Good News!

Every so often, we get a much-needed jolt. There are plenty of bad jolts: a rough day with the kids, the loss of a dear friend, a visit to the doctor that unexpectedly requires a follow-up (i.e., we found something scary and don’t know what it is, but oh, don’t worry!). Today, the jolt was good.

I learned this morning that “Homeless with Cancer” is listed as a finalist for the Society of Professional Journalists Green Eyeshade Awards in the category of public service in magazine journalism. The Green Eyeshade Awards are sponsored by the southeast region, and honor submissions from journalists in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia. I’m up against a reporter from Charlotte, N.C., who wrote about the decline of real journalism in our society. Given the number of lay-offs and firings of journalists over the past year and a half, I’ve got to agree with the guy. Anyway, the decision about the award will be announced at a banquet in Atlanta on June 24. I’m gonna add that event to my list (the one presented in excruciating detail in my last post).

Shortly after opening the email that gave me an uplifting caffeine-free jolt, I received a phone call from my editor at CR who told me that she just saw that “Homeless with Cancer” earned third place in the Philly Chapter of SPJ–this time in the public service in print journalism category. Woo hoo!

Over the past 18 months, I’ve experienced a lot of good in the community of homeless cancer survivors I’ve come to know and care deeply about. Somehow, though, it takes a jolt–I prefer the good ones–to prove to me that the work I’m doing means something. I couldn’t be happier and can’t wait to share the news with Edwina, Lisa and the others.

One thought on “Good News!

Leave a Reply

