The next step

It’s been close to a week since my last post. Clearly, Street Smarts took more out of me than I realized.

I heard from Linda Saether, the producer of the story on Street Smarts for HLN, about the schedule for running the segment. She had good news. The story will run four times during the week of July 11 as part of the “Leaders with Heart” series:
Monday, July 11 between 8:30-9:00 a.m.
Wednesday, July 13 between 9:00-9:30 a.m.
Saturday, July 16, and Sunday, July 17 between 10:00-11:00 a.m.

Also, she said that the medical department at CNN thought the story/program was fantastic, so they’ll use other footage (taken by Rich Brooks) to put together a “Health Minute” as well–stay tuned for further details!

As it so happens (not so surprising, really, given the long list of items on my plate that I posted a couple of weeks ago), I’ll be smack in the middle of the Kathmandu Valley when the story airs on HLN. Luckily, Linda promised to send me several copies of the story on disc. Hurrah for technology! I can’t believe I just said that.

Cathleen Cummings, my colleague in art history and co-leader of the UAB in Nepal Program, set up a blog for us all to contribute to during the trip:

http://uab-nepal.blogspot.com/2011/06/thinking-about-nepal.html

I’ll be writing about my experiences on the Nepal blog as well as this one–assuming I don’t have a run-in with any yaks, that is–so you’ll have plenty to read!

Leave a Reply

