A busy road to travel

It’s been a crazy, busy, wonderful summer, and for the first time in a long time, I actually feel ready to head back to the classroom tomorrow. So often, the summer ends with me feeling in a bit of a panic, disappointed that I didn’t accomplish more–a few more pages of text, another drawer cleaned, another trip to the pool with the girls, more materials printed out and ready for the semester.

It’s not that I don’t have a pile of tasks that I could’ve, should’ve accomplished. It’s more that I feel good about where I am in the process. I’m enjoying the journey–the book I’m working on about my experiences with Edwina, the upcoming conferences I’m planning to attend, the much-needed bathroom remodel that’s really, truly going to happen! To some, the idea that I’m happy in the place I’m currently occupying might not seem like a big deal, but for a destination junkie like me, it’s huge!

One bright moment today involved a press release issued by the AACR about my Clarion Award: http://www.aacr.org/home/public–media/aacr-in-the-news.aspx?d=2432

When I read the release, I was most touched by the comment from Margaret Foti, CEO of the AACR, that “Homeless with Cancer” “shows heart.”  I’ve been thinking that maybe Foti’s words have something to do with the general sense of contentment I’m experiencing. Through my friendship with Edwina, Lisa, Roderick, and the others whose lives with cancer have become intertwined with my own, I’m allowing myself to feel life as it is right now.

Leave a Reply

