A full plate

When I asked Edwina a few months ago what she wishes for her life, a full plate of teeth was at the top of the list. Recently, she’s experienced a lot of pain from a few decaying teeth on the bottom row, so she and I headed to the UAB Dental School last week for an exam and “some pullin’.”

Turns out that several exams and several visits are needed to remove a mouthful–or in Edwina’s case, a partial mouthful–of teeth. And the promise of a new plate for the top and bottom, a replacement for the four-tooth insert Edwina currently wears, is going to cost a whole lot more than $40.

Edwina left me a phone message today after returning to the clinic with her husband Tyrone, and she was hopping mad. “They’s givin’ me the run-around, Miss Rayan,” she insisted. “I already borrowed some money from my daddy and I ain’t got no more.”

” Tomorrow,” I told her, “I’ll give the clinic a call and see what I can find out.”

For now, she waits in pain, wondering if she’ll ever have a full plate of teeth again to enjoy the foods she loves but hasn’t bitten into for years.

For now, I wait, wondering where the mix-up occurred and whether it can be fixed. Edwina is tired of being patient, of feeling like she never quite gets the whole story or all of “what’s comin’ to her.”

Leave a Reply

