Victory, or a few more bucks in the bank

After close to 3 years, I received a check for an op-ed I published in the Chicago Tribune. Shortly after the piece appeared, I got a check in the mail and ran to the bank to deposit it. To my surprise, the bank sent me a notice a few days later that the check had bounced and I owed $16 in charges. Great.

I have a file drawer full of paperwork that I’ve received in the interim to keep me posted on the Tribune bankruptcy case, and I’d pretty much given up hope that I’d ever see any green.

If you wait long enough, there’s sometimes a light at the end of the tunnel–in this case, a few more bucks in the bank (minus the $16). Victory!

 

Leave a Reply

