From the classroom

UAB’s media relations team just released a story about the eleven faculty members honored with the 2013 President’s Excellence in Teaching Award: http://www.uab.edu/news/reporter/people/item/3339-president’s-award-for-excellence-in-teaching-goes-to-11

I’m fortunate to have received the honor for the College of Arts and Sciences, a unit including 19 academic departments and 3 programs (African American studies, international studies, and gender studies). I was admittedly shocked to learn I’d won the award, since I had no idea I’d been nominated by my peers based on student feedback through the years!

It means a lot to me that despite the difficulty and frustration that goes with writing, my students appreciate the knowledge I’ve tried to pass on. I wonder if they know how much they’ve taught me.

Leave a Reply

