A hurt heart

Edwina left me a desperate voice message Monday night.

“Miss Rayan, you don’t love me no more,” she said, her voice quivering. “I never hear from you, you don’t call me, nothin’. Call me. Please.”

I called her first thing Tuesday morning to tell her that I do still love her. I’ve just been busy and had a lot on my mind.

I’ve been down this road before with Edwina. When life gets crazy and I’m otherwise occupied, Edwina begins to panic. She’s certain that I’m dropping her as a friend, even though I’ve assured her many times that I’ll always be there for her. That’s what friends do.

Once Edwina calmed down, she and I talked a while. Turns out, Edwina has been in the hospital twice in the past few weeks. Both times, she had to have stents put in her heart. I know she must have been scared, and I told her that no matter how busy I am, she should call me when she faces something scary and needs some support. I’ll find a way to see her.

We do have an outing planned in a couple of weeks. I’ve been invited to be the guest speaker at a breast cancer event at a community college in Huntsville on October 28, and I invited Edwina to come along.

“We’ll spend the day together,” I told her. “Two friends on a road trip.”

Edwina told me she can’t wait to go.

Leave a Reply

