A long hiatus

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything on this site. I’m back!

Sometimes, I’ve discovered, we get so caught up in the business of living that we don’t have–or take–the time to reflect on what we’ve been doing. In the past couple of months, I’ve been working on a number of writing projects, doing some traveling–to Illinois to help out my parents while my dad underwent hip replacement surgery and to Philly to attend my nephew’s wedding–and keeping up with the day-to-day/hour-by-hour activities that keep me moving forward. A lot of that time, I find, is spent in the car, driving my girls to school, friends’ houses, softball games, church, parties. It’s a busy life.

Things have been so hectic that I wasn’t able to exchange Christmas gifts with Edwina until last week. We decided to meet at my office on a day I was teaching, and since there were no parking spots nearby, Edwina pulled up in front of my building and I ran out to her car.

It was Tuesday, January 12, the morning after the U of Alabama won the 2016 National Championship against Clemson. Folks in Alabama were pretty darn prideful that Tuesday.

Edwina drove up in a black car that’s on again, off again. She never knows whether the thing will start when she turns the key, but that day she got lucky. She’d added a Crimson Tide flag to the front of her car that morning and was beaming at me from the driver’s seat.

“Did you watch that game last night, Ms. Rayan?”

“I sure did.”

“That was excitin’,” she said, smiling and nodding her head.

It was good to see Edwina, pumped up after a victory.

Roll Tide.

Leave a Reply

