Dreaming Disarray

A bus packed with people and nowhere to sit.

A house filled with toppled furniture, fragments of food and spilled glasses of wine covering the floor, overturned plants.

A closet with plenty of clothes, but not a matching combination in sight.

These were my dreams last night from midnight to 6:00 a.m.

Some aspects of my life have been in disarray, so why not my dreams?

The last couple of weeks, I’ve been worried about my parents, really about my brother showing up at my parents’ house and bringing them harm. I don’t know where he’s lurking–in Illinois, Pennsylvania, Alabama?

I’m experiencing writer’s block, starting plenty of projects but feeling an emptiness inside that prevents me from completing my thoughts.

Today, I sent Edwina a text, asking how she’s been. Turns out, she’s feeling a bit unsettled as well. Her car isn’t working, so she can’t get where she needs to go. She fell and hurt her leg, so walking is even more painful than usual. She misses me and wishes we could find the time to meet up and catch up on one another’s lives.

As soon as the disarray ends, I tell her, we’ll make plans. I hope it’s soon.

Leave a Reply

