The Alabama Project at Loyola

Gradually, I’m settling back into Alabama time and writing about the amazing experiences I had this summer in Poland and back in Illinois. One highlight was the trip to the Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center at Loyola University’s Medical Center to deliver some of The Alabama Project photos and to present background on the project during a reception there. The pictures that follow taken by my friend, Tanya, provide a glimpse at the exhibit and speaking engagement.

 

IMG_0065

Me pictured with the women at Loyola who brought The Alabama Project to cancer survivors in Chicago.

 

IMG_0032

An announcement of the photo exhibit alongside David’s picture of Debbie Tabb and her family. Attendees were also provided with copies of Cancer Today containing stories about some of the Alabama women.

IMG_0021

A look at the lobby where The Alabama Project photos were displayed.

IMG_0041

My presentation about the amazing stories behind David’s images.

IMG_0075

Pictured alongside my family, including Mom (seated), my Auntie Rose, Uncle Tom, and Dad (left to right, standing).

IMG_0077

Smiling alongside my gal pals, Tanya (who transported us to Chicago and played photographer) and Suzanne (van co-driver who accompanied me and the pics all the way from Birmingham).

 

IMG_0074

Mom, Dad, and me enjoying a happy moment at Loyola–much happier than Mom’s emergency hospital visit that took us there earlier this year.

 

2 thoughts on “The Alabama Project at Loyola

  1. So glad I could be part of your day at Loyola! Gained a greater appreciation for the pictures seeing the images in full scale; enlightened by your presentation; had a wonderful time catching up with your family, some of which I hadn’t seen since our high school days; and genuinely enjoyed meeting Suzanne, who I now call friend.

Leave a Reply

