Hey, Nick!

The Crimson Tide’s super coach, Nick Saban, led his players in a march for social justice yesterday.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/2020/09/01/nick-saban-racial-justice-march/

I commend Nick for speaking out, adding his feet to the march, and bringing the present face-to-face with a racist Wallace past at U of Alabama. In Alabama, Wallace-era politics remain palpable, as evidenced by the following cornerstone on my former office building at UAB. Every time I swept by the placard, and thought about the legions of students from many backgrounds walking by and seeing that inscription, I cringed.

Building Three UAB Wallace cornerstone

My only suggestion to Nick and other people of privilege leaning towards asserting that “Not all lives will matter until Black lives matter” would be to let the players walk in front of you next time. They’re the leaders in this fight.

2 thoughts on “Hey, Nick!

Leave a comment