A taste for Dublin

The New York Times published a mouth-watering article today on some of the culinary delights that await visitors to Dublin:

https://www.nytimes.com/2023/11/15/travel/dublin-restaurants.html

One cafe that’s burst on the scenes is called “Assassination Custard,” an allusion to my friend Philip’s grand-uncle James Joyce who once called literary great Samuel Beckett, who was apparently feeling under the weather, one and the same.

Have you visited the cafe, Phil? The stewed fava beans with a side of dandelion greens looks delectable!

One thought on “A taste for Dublin

  1. No, Cynthia, I haven’t been through this door. I wonder have they assassinated any lambs, given that they are presenting fava beans on the menu – I’m sure that you know where I’m going with this, Cy….. as for dandelion salad, this weed is freely available to me as it grows through any crack in our stone-paved back-yard. Good for that eating place if they can make a few euros from it AND get the NYT to publicise it. I’d be a bacon and turnip person, myself. (When I tried to read the report from the reference, an annoying request to support certain journalists with a few euros kept encroaching on the article.) Kind regards from this dandelion haven!!

Leave a comment